Ethiopia is a multi-party federal democracy with legislative authority resting with the government headed by an executive prime minister and the elected House of Representatives (547 members) and the House of Federation (110 members). The Prime Minister is chosen by the party in power following multi-party democratic national and federal state elections which are held every five years. Parties can be registered at either the national or the federal state level. The President is elected by the members of the House of Peoples Representatives.
 President: Sahlework Zewude 
 Prime Minister: Dr. Abiy Ahmed 
 Speaker of the House of Peoples Representatives: Tagese Chafo 
 Below is the list of the ministers: Cabinet (October 2018): 
  1.  Deputy Prime Minister Demeke Mekonnen
  2.  Ministry of Peace Mrs. Mufuriat Kamil 
  3. Ministry of Defense Engineer Aisha Mohammed 
  4. Ministry of Foreign Affairs Dr. Workneh Gebeyehu 
  5. Ministry of Finance Mr. Ahmed Shide
  6.  Attorney General Mr. Birhanu Tsegaye 
  7. Ministry of Agriculture Mr. Omer Husen 
  8. Ministry of Trade and Industry Mrs Fetle-work Gebre-Egzihaber 
  9. Ministry of Innovation and Technology Dr. Getahun Mekuria 
  10. Ministry of Transport Mrs. Dagmawit Moges 
  11. Ministry of Urban Development and construction Mr. Jantrar Abay 
  12. Ministry of Water, Irrigation and Energy Dr. Engineer Sileshi Bekele 
  13. Ministry of Mines and Petroleum Dr. Samuel Hurka 
  14. Ministry of Education Dr. Tilaye Gete 
  15. Ministry of Science and Higher Education Dr. Hirut Wolde-Mariam 
  16. Ministry of Health Dr. Amir Aman 
  17. Ministry of Women, Children and Youth Mrs.Yalem-Tsegay Asfaw 
  18. Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs Dr.Ergoge Tesfay 
  19. Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Sport Dr. Hirut Kassaw 
  20. Ministry of Revenue Mrs. Adanech Abeebe 
  21. Planning and Development Commission Dr. Fetsum Assefa 
  22. Asmelash Woldesilasie Chief Government Whip 

Capital City 

The last federal and national elections were held in 2010 and were won by the Ethiopian Peoples Revolutionary Democratic Front. 

The regional states (killil) elect their own Regional State Councils chosen from among their members. The State Councils also designate members for the House of Federation. 
 ANDP - Afar National Democratic Party; 
APDO- Argoba People Democratic Organization; 
BGPDP – Benishangul-Gumuz Peoples Democratic Party; Forum - Ethiopian Federal Democratic Unity Forum (Medrek);
 GPUDM – Gambella Peoples Unity Democratic Movement; HNL - Harari National League; 
SPDM –Somali Peoples Democratic Movement. 
The EPRDF - the Ethiopian Peoples Revolutionary Democratic Party, is a coalition of the Amhara National Democratic Movement (ANDM), the Oromo Peoples Democratic Organization (OPDO), the Tigrai Peoples Liberation Front (TPLF) and the Southern Ethiopian Peoples Democratic Front (SEPDF). The EPRDF won 499 of the 547 federal parliamentary seats, with 38 seats in Tigray, 137 in Amhara, 178 in Oromia, 122 in South Ethiopia Peoples State and 22 seats in Addis Ababa. Allied parties won 8 seats in Afar states, 9 seats in Benishangul Gumuz, 3 seats in Gambella State and 23 seats in Somali State. The EPRDF also won one seat in each of Harari state and the Dire Dawa City Administration. The opposition Forum won one seat in Addis Ababa; an independent candidate won a seat in the South Ethiopia Peoples State.

Back to Home

Subscribe Our News Posts